Discussion in 'Auto Repair' started by fault code, Jun 15, 2017.

  1. fault code

    fault code Administrator Staff Member

    May 11, 2017
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    The "Check Engine" light warns drivers that something is wrong, and occurs when the computer issues an error message. A solid light means that the issue is not urgent. A flashing light means stop immediately, as soon as it's safe to stop.

    DTC (Diagnostic Trouble Code)

    This is the alpha-numeric code that will help you define the malfunction of your engine systems

    OBD (On Board Diagnostics)

    This is the name given to the government related diagnostics system for all vehicles from 1996 to present day

    ECM (Engine Control Module)

    This can also be referred to as the PCM, or Power train Control Module. This is the computer that controls the electrical functions of your engine and this is also the module that turns on the check engine light

    CEL (Check Engine Light)

    This can also appear as "Service Engine Soon" either way it's worded, this is the indicator on your dash to tell you something has malfunctioned. It all depends on the make of your vehicle as to which will show up.

    RPM (Rotations Per Minute)

    The RPM gauge on your dash tells you how fast your engine is spinning. For engine speed it's RPMx1000. There are other components that will have the RPM measured, but the only one you can see without a scanner is engine RPM.

    MAP sensor (Manifold Absolute Pressure sensor)

    This sensor tells your ECM important information about atmospheric pressure outside of the engine, the air pressure inside of your intake manifold, and the difference between the two

    MAF sensor (Mass Air Flow sensor)

    This sensor tells the ECM how much air is entering your engine. The ECM uses this to info to calculate several different values for fuel delivery

    TPS (Throttle Position Sensor)

    This sensor tells the ECM how far you're pressing the gas pedal. This info is important to the transmission as well for shift patterns

    ECT (Engine Coolant Temperature sensor)

    This does exactly what it sounds like, it tells the ECM how hot the engine coolant is. The ECM uses for fuel delivery strategies to help maintain the best fuel economy

    IAC (Idle Air Control valve)

    This valve is used for maintaining a set, constant, engine speed when the vehicle is idling

    CKP (Crankshaft Position sensor)

    The ECM uses this to electronically calculate the exact position of the crankshaft. It does this to know where each cylinder is in the 4 stroke combustion process: Intake, Compression, Power, Exhaust

    CMP (Camshaft Position sensor)

    The ECM uses this info to electronically calculate the exact position of the camshaft. It does this to determine things like fuel injector sequence and ignition coil firing sequence. There may be more than one of these sensors, depending on how many camshafts your engine has

    EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation valve)

    This valve is used to route some of the exhaust gasses back to the intake manifold to be run through the combustion process again. This is to cool the temperature of the combustion chamber and to help your vehicle have cleaner emissions

Share This Page